|  IEEE Xplore Digital Library  |  IEEE Standards  |  IEEE Spectrum  |  More Sites

Home > News > IEEE Sarawak Subsection 8th AGM & the new EXCO-Lineup for Term 2023-24

IEEE Sarawak Subsection 8th AGM & the new EXCO-Lineup for Term 2023-24

Share this news

The IEEE Sarawak Subsection’s Annual General Meeting has successfully taken place on 25th of February 2023 at Swinburne University of Technology, Sarawak Campus and online zoom meeting. The AGM begins with a welcoming address by the Chair of IEEE Sarawak Subsection 2021-2022/23, Jacey Lynn Minoi followed by subsection activities reports by both Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer.

In year 2022, the IEEE Sarawak Subsection has successfully organized several events and activities ranging from Humanitarian Technology related activities, Seminars/Workshops, Educational Activities, Competiton as well as Professional Development related events. These activities and events are listed as follows:

Professional Development Talks:

  1. DJI Drone for Farming and infrastructure Surveillance
  2. Blockchain Webinar: The Brief of Bitcoin and Blockchain
  3. Trust-Tech Methodology for Nonlinear Constrained Optimization and Optimal Power Flow in Power Grids

Educational Activities and Workshops

  1. Computer Networking Bootcamp
  2. 5th Gamification Seminar
  3. 3rd International Conference on Computer and Drone Applications
  4. IoT workshop: Introducing mini computing for IoT at home
  5. Equip your home plant with IoT and the Internet
  6. Arduino online simulator (WOKWI) STEM workshop

IEEE Sarawak SIGHT & Humanitarian Technology Activities

  1. 2nd IEEE Sarawak SIGHT AGM
  2. IoT workshop and competition
  3. IEEE Sarawak Subsection and SIGHT Humanitarian project at SK Kampung Bahagia Jaya

In addition to that, the secretary also update and shared the award and grant won by IEEE Sarawak Subsection members.

IEEE Engineering Projects in Community Service, EPICS funding
Self-Navigating Robotic Walking Aid For The Elderly Project
– Lau Bee Theng and Mark Tee Kit Tsun, Albe Chai Bing Zhe, Isaac Asante, and Atiqul Islam.

The Chair then calls for the dissolution of the committee for term 2022 and proceeds with the election for 2023-2024 term committee members. The former Vice-Chair, Hudyjaya Siswoyo Jo was elevated as the upcoming Chair while and the remaining positions are vacant for nomination.

The newly elected IEEE Sarawak Subsection’s committee members (2023-2024) are listed below:

Position Name
Chair Hudyjaya Siswoyo Jo
Immediate Past Chair Jacey-Lynn Minoi
Vice Chair Mark Tee Kit Tsun
Honorary Secretary Lee Beng Yong
Honorary Treasurer Lau Bee Theng
Executive Committee Members Then Yi Lung
Sheena Punai Anak Philimon
Kelvin Yong Sheng Chek
Ong Chin Ann
Auditors Tay Fei Siang
Lau Sei Ping

Congratulations to the newly elected Executive Committee of IEEE Sarawak Subsection

Executive Committee Members 2022-23 (from left to right):

Tay Fei Siang, Lau Bee Theng, Ong Chin Ann, Then Yi Lung, Lee Beng Yong, Hudyjaya Siswoyo Jo (Chair), Mark Tee (Vice-Chair), Shenna Punai anak Philimon, Kelvin Yong, and Jacey Lynn Minoi (Immediate-Past Chair): Not in photo: Lau Sei Ping (Online)


Ong Chin Ann
Executive Committee Member (Communication & Promotion), IEEE Sarawak Subsection 2019-2020, 2020-2021, 2021-2022, 2023-2024 IEEE Senior Member